|Where we are|
|Dagnam Park is situated on the northern edge of Harold Hill. The vehicular access is at the end of Settle Rd. There are also pedestrian access points in Priory Rd, Sedgefield Cres, Tring Gdns, Whitchurch Rd, Lower Noke Close and Noak Hill Rd. The Brookside Angling Club manages the main ponds and there are numerous other small ponds renowned for their wildlife. The park has full public access at all times but the car park is locked at night. The central area of the park has been parkland for hundreds of years and up until 1946 was in private hands. Hatters Wood is significant ancient woodland and there are ancient meadows to the east of the car park area. The Lily Pond was once the ornamental pond associated with the Dagnams mansion to the north west and the round pond was a bathing pool contained within what was once the walled garden. The park is home to a large number of interesting animals and plants. It is one of the most important sites in East London for the great crested newt and has an ever increasing herd of wild fallow deer, not to mention those stunning bluebells.|
Who we are
Friends of Dagnam Park was conceived at a
meeting of the Brookside
Angling Club in Harold Wood on the 2nd May 2003 when a whole lot
of angry Harold Hill people sat in the audience bursting to have their
say about the way their enjoyment of the park had been destroyed by
a handful of anti-social illegal motorcyclists.
not join us; we need all the help we can get. We each contribute six
pounds a year which is used for the hire of halls and other running
Some founder members of FODP post leaflets in the park. Dennis Cook, D Cook Jnr, Kate Cook, Gaynor Smith and Peter Baines 2003.